CTSA pict

Center for Tropical and Subtropical Aquaculture (CTSA)

The Center for Tropical and Subtropical Aquaculture (CTSA), one of five regional aquaculture centers, was created to spark the development of commercial aquaculture of tropical and subtropical species. Unlike the other centers, which work within a defined geographical region, the CTSA "region" currently encompasses tropical and subtropical species wherever they are cultured within the United States and the U.S. Affiliated Pacific Islands (American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Hawaii, Republic of Belau [Palau] and the Republic of the Marshall Islands). Research projects span the American Insular Pacific, focusing on developing an aquaculture industry using commercially viable tropical and subtropical species.

The CTSA is co-administered by the University of Hawaii (UH) and Oceanic Institute (OI). Strong industry support and collaboration is provided through a formal Industry Advisory Council (IAC) composed of commercial aquaculture farmers, aquaculture suppliers, and members of government bodies and financial institutions.

Each year, the U.S. Department of Agriculture Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Service (USDA/CSREES) provides CTSA's operating grant. That grant is budgeted to cover the individual research projects, as well as all administrative, project development, publication and technology transfer costs.

The CTSA funds new project opportunities that arise during the execution of a given year's program or to provide additional moneys to an ongoing project. For the past 17 years, CTSA has funded 177 projects addressing national aquaculture priorities, information dissemination, extension support to further industry development, marketing and economics, development of new technologies and demonstration and adaptation of known technologies.

Visit our web site